Phrases for Grouplets or Polyrhythms:

2s on 3s: NOT DIFFICULT

3s on 4s: I CAN PLAY THIS RHYTHM

3s on 5s: PLAY THIS RHYTHM REALLY FAST or M-I-S-S—P-P-I

4s on 5s: THIS RHYTHM DIFFICULT IS NOT

4s on 6s: NOT DIFFICULT, NOT DIFFICULT

5s on 6s: THIS RHYTHM 6 5 IS 5 6 RHYTHM

 

Online References:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polyrhythm






unprofessional youtube on polyrhythms

 

 

3 Responses to “Phrases for Grouplets or Polyrhythms:”

  1. Mr. Bradshaw Says:

    3s on 5s: OTHERS FIND THIS DIFFICULT

  2. COMPOSING « Tony Bradshaw's Music Education Says:

    […] with piano accompaniment. At the same time, I have been working to play the polyrhythm 5 on 3 (see a previous post on Polyrhythms that is often updated with new information as I come across it) for some time and am […]

  3. Teaching Rhythm « Tony Bradshaw's Music Education Says:

    […] Observing in Orchestra today, I’ve had some time to reflect on a number of things. One is teaching rhythm, and I did some research on how to teach 6/8 time. I found a website with the question on how to teach. One of the teachers who commented helps me not feel alone about using interesting phrases to learn rhythms (see my polyrhythm blog entry): […]

Leave a comment